xp-more no vm show

Apr 25, 2010 at 9:45 PM

Greetings, I have your .exe and have run from the desktop and from the  

C:\Users\williag1\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows Virtual PC\Virtual Machines

all I see are the window XP-More, the About, and the buttons

Launch Duplicate Create New

Create New did pop dialogs to name a new VM but only created a VM shell without the XP OS?

What do you need to diagnose?

Apr 26, 2010 at 6:08 PM

I am not understanding your reply, I am new to codeplex and not sure of reporting errata except by email here.

I have 1 VM configured and when I launched your app, nothing showed in a list as expected.

I gathered you expect this to run from the desktop in order to path correctly, am I correct? 

Coordinator
Apr 30, 2010 at 6:36 PM

Hi Jerry,

XP-More is totally portable, which means it doesn't matter were you run it from. You can move it at will, it won't matter.

Do you already have any virtual machines on you PC? If not, it should explain why you see none. If you don't see one you know that exist, please let me know.

Regarding to the VM creation, it is supposed to be an empty shell - like a new (real) PC with no OS. You can install whatever you like on the empty VM, and then use the rest of the features. Microsoft provides one XP VM called XP Mode, which you can get here: http://www.microsoft.com/windows/virtual-pc/download.aspx, so you can start with that.

Apr 30, 2010 at 7:48 PM

Greetings, I just downloaded an ran the 1.1 and see the new command buttons.

However I have 2 XP Mode machines setup and nothing shows where the list should be populated.

You are getting the path correct because if I click on Create New I see the path to the

virtual machine folder. I had hoped this app would enable you to easily copy XP Mode virtual

machines, that is copy the .vmcx the .vmc and .vhd and make the tweaks to the .vmc that need to be unique.